Conceal and Carry Permits are processed at the sheriff's office Monday thru Friday 8am-4pm (or by appointment). When applying for a Conceal and Carry Permit, you will need the following:
* Be a Livingston County Resident
*Certificate of Firearms Safety Training Course
*Effective January 01, 2019 the costs is $37.25 to the LCSO in exact cash, check or debit/credit card (which covers the $27.25 Missouri State Highway Patrol background fee and the $10 fee for the LCSO)
It will take up to 45 days to process your permit application due to a mandatory criminal records check through the Missouri State Highway Patrol. Upon completion, the sheriff will approve or disapprove your application based on any criminal record or other factors required by law and you will be notified to pick up your permit. Missouri law used to require this permit be taken to the Driver's License Bureau within 7 days; now the law has changed and we are able to issue your permit once the background has been completed and your permit is valid for 5 years.
Conceal & Carry Renewals:
The State of Missouri will NOT notify you by mail when it is time to renew your CCW. You will need to bring a $10.00 renewal fee to the Livingston County Sheriff's Office during office hours. At which time, you will be given the renewal permit valid for 5 years
Conceal & Carry CCW from another State
Missouri will honor your out of state CCW until it expires. At which time you will either need to renew your CCW in the state that it was issued or take a Missouri CCW training course.
Our office holds a high level of respect and admiration for our citizens who honor the 2nd amendment and further exercise their individual right with concealed carry. We believe that freedom, education, and training are very important in our society today. We believe this is a fundamental freedom which was strongly desired by our founding fathers.